SaltCritters.com

What type of algae is this?

Zachary Hart

Hello. I'm new to the fish keeping hobby and am still getting to grips with all the different types of algae. This tank is only 3 months old and has 2 turbo snails and a cleaner shrimp in it. I've looked online for the type of algae this is, but I can't pinpoint it. My question is have any of you had this before, and how do you treat it? Thanks!

15448774017191396901868733142179.jpg

When you find bright green encrusting algae on the rocks a good test is if it comes off when you scrub with your finger it is film algae (or green cyano), if not it is coralline. Looks like there is some of both in your case. 

Also some hair algae. 

• Like 1

The dark stuff doesn't look to be an issues, most likely film algae.

The stringy stuff is hair algae and it spreads quickly so getting on the cause and correcting it will reduce and prevent its return.

Looks like a new tank,  which go through various stages.

Check you nutrient levels first.

What's your filtration and the media

Have you started your waterchanges? Vacuum sand, Turkey baste rocks?

What's your water source?

It looks like your CUC isn't touching the hairy stuff, so that makes removing this algae your job.  Rip it out as carefully and completely as you can.  Consider spot-treating with peroxide if it seems like even hand-pulling won't make it go.  Once it's small and low enough, the snails will manage it from there.

Consider using a larger number of smaller snails.

What do you measure for nitrates and phosphates?

• Like 1

The tank is 4 months old. I use carbon and biomax in a sponge filter. I have the fluval Evo 13.5 so it's the one it comes with. I do water changes every week with rodi water made from my own 4 stage rodi system. I also vacuum the sand every other week. As of yet I don't test for phosphate but I use the API test kit for nitrate which reads 5 ppm