inTank Media Baskets

CUC in refugium?

AquaVaj

I have a 5L x 4W x 16H compartment I made specifically for a fuge in my AIO. I will have sand, a few of those small Marine Pure biocubes and chaeto. Can I put a couple of snails in there too or will they likely starve since the compartment isn't all that big?

Why are you putting sand in your AIO rear chamber? That seems like a detritus trap? I'm not an expert, but I have a hard time seeing how the pros of that outweigh the cons? What type of tank is this?

A Little Blue

If you gonna use “sand”, place it in a tray or a basket of some sort. Miracle Mud would make more sense as it releases supplements found in the ocean. Look at my build (1st page) for an idea how. 

I keep 2 snails in back chambers (been there for a month now) and they help with algae build up.  I do check on them from time to time. Just don’t put them there right away. Wait for some sediment and algae build up to accumulate or they might starve. 

9EA51DA1-FF75-46BF-B786-0DA25A3F8B63.thumb.jpeg.626a67b1869ceb21d3fe25a238bcfe30.jpeg

• Like 1

Not familiar with your AIO  compartments.  Because I emphasize nutrient recycling as opposed to nutrient export, I prefer unlit refugium with rock rubble.  Pods will eat detritus and biofilm that grow without lights.  I would leave snails out to allow more food for pods,

This guy is extra salty

I have snails in my refugium area in my tanks but my tanks are 30-200gallons

i think one will be fine for you

im curious also why you would put sand in there too

A Little Blue

I should add that I have a screen to keep macro algae from getting to return chamber and that’s where I originally left one of the snails. The other one was occupied cleaning every other chamber. After a while they found the way to reunite. They are basically in all back compartments now. They look healthy and active. I wouldn’t go as far as recommending this to anyone but it seems to work for me ...... for now 🙏🏻