Coral Vue Hydros

Looking for some guidance on radions verses kessil

MNK9569

Have been a avid kessil user have them all  started a nano to house some stuff after taking down display originally used a a360we on a jbj 24 Nano wanted to try a radion so got one on trade a XR15w pro gen 3 just want honest opinions if someone has used both to compare kessil doesn’t have features thevradion does but it’s proven to work for me I’m running the coral lab lps program hammer just doesn’t seem as happy as it was under kessil 

• 4 weeks later...

I have the same Radion. I have no experience with Kessils. What I can tell you is that I feel like I've had the same experience with the Radion - things just aren't super happy with it. Even dialed down it is just a beast of a light and in my biocube, which was 24" deep, I just couldn't seem to get the corals far enough away from the light to be happy. Acros bleached within days, even under the assimilate function. Zoas did well but only at sandbed level. The only 'creature' that was happy with the light was the anemone and even he only climbed up to reach more light after I finally gave up and turned the whites down to literally nothing so I had just the overly-blue look going on in my tank, which I don't actually like (I like the bluish tint but not to where it is a solid deep blue like I had to have it to make everyone happy and not bleach out).

The Radion is a fantastic light, but I think even the XR15 needs a bigger tank than the biocube size. Maybe a 40ish cube??

FYI - was just on BRS and see EcoTech has created a "diffuser" for the XR15. It causes 20% less light but that is def not an issue for me. I actually think it may makea pretty drastic improvement to the light if it's a little less intense but a little better on spread.

• 2 weeks later...

Quick addition to this: I want to make sure we are sticking to the laws of physics here, and not blaming lights for what is a water issue.