ReefCleaners.org

ZEOvit System

onthefly

Ok,

I've been reading alot on this subject. For those that don't know, this is a huge craze in Europe.

So, for those who know, is the ZEOvit system just a trace element replacement system and PO4/NO3 reduction? It looks to me like you still need: 1) Ca reactor 2) Kalk reactor 3) skimmer 3) still need to dose Mg 4) and w/c's. So, just another piece of techno-crap to foul the system?

As a scientist, I'm alway leary of the snake oil drops (AKA ZEOstart, ZEObak, ZEOfood, ZEOspur2, "potassium iodide fluoride" concentrate (which makes no sense to me), Iron concentrate, etc).

The pics of the systems that run it are awesome, but who's to say it isn't good husbandry and not the ZEOvit?

Anyone else have any insight?

Check it out: http://www.captiveoceans.com/

I've read a bit about it, and I'm not sold on it. I think it'll be like another fad.. one that comes and goes. Kinda like the DSB! (Though it's not going.... YET!)

HA! My sand bed is slowly disappearing with every water change!!!

I just don't see why I'm supposed to spend another $500 buck or so for some voodoo filtration system. They say the bacteria feed the SPS, which is soooo wrong.

"Another important consideration is the possible importance of bacteria in the heterotrophic feeding of corals. A study conducted in the early 1970s revealed that SPS corals were able to process more phosphorus from bacterioplankton than from inorganic phosphate that was present in the water at an equal concentration (Sorokin 1973)."