ReefCleaners.org

NEW Tunze 9001 Initial Review!

broodc2

I just got my Tunze 9001 from SteveT! Packing was top notch as always and as usual, I got my swedish fish! The skimmer is all set up and running in my Nuvo 24 currently. After approximately 20 minutes of run time I figured I'd share some pictures and my first impressions and initial thoughts. Right off the bat there things I really like and some things I can see becoming kind of a pain. I have been running the 9002 for the last 7 months.

Here are some un-boxing pics. I love the fact that a cleaning brush is included. I bought my 9002 used so if this is par for the course for Tunze I guess this isn't all that awesome. But it was a nice surprise.

14558080938_09cd0248db_o.jpg

14721730406_785263d830_o.jpg

I haven't seen these yet so I figured I'd snap some shots side by side with a 9002. This thing in comparison is TINY. With the collection cup it is just about as tall as the 9002 without the collection cup. It may be a hair wider but I can't tell for sure with the rounded edges.

14742371004_1897e9761f_o.jpg

14558080758_3d76cc1f2d_o.jpg

Here it is in action:

14741582131_d8d6bd20d5_o.jpg(11)

14558118899_b600e82283_o.jpg

I'm loving the low profile. Where it's positioned it can barely be seen when looking right at the display.

14741582471_060c9d5f73_o.jpg

Pros:

• I love the small size of this skimmer. I'm running it in the second chamber along with an IM desktop reactor. With the 9002 it was almost impossible to get to the reactor or the skimmer for cleaning due to the size of the skimmer. I can just about get my hand in between them now.
  • THIS THING IS QUIET! Immediately the noise from the tank drastically dropped. I didn't realize how loud my 9002 was until I plugged this in. With the lid on I swear this thing isn't even audible over the reactor and return pumps. And it's not even broken in yet.