ReefCleaners.org

Good $400-$500 Camera?

Paandemonium

Any suggestions? I dont need a workhorse but I'm getting bored of my powershot SX50 HS, I'd like something I could put a macro lens on and go crazy around the tank with

I would think a t2i, and 100 f2.8 non IS could serve you well for cheap. Though, it requires more reading and practice than reefing to get stunning images consistently. I know because I have been chasing them for the past ~6-7 months.

Your budget for a body is sufficient, but double it for a good macro too.

I just bought a Nikon d3100 and have to say that I'm really excited. I can only recommend it. I've just started playing with macro myself, but have been able to get pretty decent results with a Nikkor micro 55mm f3.5, which you should be able to get second hand at a good price. You can see some pics in my thread. I'm a complete noob, so with practice you should be able to do way better :)

Photography made me sell my tank, so be warned. It's a slippery slope. Google POTN. Read. You know it works if your still on here.

Buy used as a beginner. (And as a pro for lenses)

Look up my camera search thread it's on here, though I am about ready to upgrade already it's useful and pertinent.

I would think a t2i, and 100 f2.8 non IS could serve you well for cheap. Though, it requires more reading and practice than reefing to get stunning images consistently. I know because I have been chasing them for the past ~6-7 months.

Your budget for a body is sufficient, but double it for a good macro too.

Agreed, the budget is a bit tight.

My advice would be to get a good macro lens and then the body you can afford, ultimately the lens is much more important than which body you attach it too, especially with the cameras that are coming out now, they are all capable of producing excellent results. Some good lenses are Canon 100mm or 60mm, Nikkor 105mm or 60mm, Tamron 90mm.