Top Shelf Aquatics

I think I am in over my head

Saltydaddy7

Saltydaddy7

Hey there everyone I'm new to saltwater as in today I started. My kids and I were out beach combing during the minus tide and thought it would be cool to take some stuff home. I thought how hard would it be. How wrong I was. Because now the anemones are closed tight and the water temp is climbing. It's in my living room. I don't know if Im setup for this! Anyway help would be appreciated. There isn't much info out there and this seems like one of the only places to get it. And yes I already know I shouldn't have collected them as I have been reading this site and now know. But what now I don't want to kill anything.

Some more info would be useful.

- Where did you collect?

- What exactly did you collect?

- What equipment do you currently have?

Well, I can tell you everything is probably going to die. I'm sorry. A list of your current equipment would help me try and help, but your tank is going to cycle (denitrification cycle) and that's going to be too rough on the 'Nems. This is just the tip of a gigantic iceberg of information that I'm going to refrain from dumping on you all at once.

Any way, what do you have set up right now? How does it look? Where these critters collected from tropical or temperate waters? Do you have any kind of test kit?

AquaticEngineer

How far from the from seawater are you? If not far and the animals haven't been exposed to any foreign creatures (ie: stuff from a seafood market) I would probably take them back to the ocean.

If you really do want to keep them long term, and only want to do it in a small scale I would look into getting a tank from www.Micro-Reefs.com

They make a 2 gallon temperate ready tank and are releasing a 6.2 gallon all in one temperate ready tank.