Cultivated Reef

[BioCube 29] Best option for a water heater

BogataTRACKER

Hi everyone,

I am new to saltwater and just setup my BioCube 29 yesterday. So far my setup is 100% stock out of the box. My water temp is hovering at 74F and I don’t have a heater installed. I have a good size heater but its way too long for chamber #1.

My questions to the experts, what is the best (affordable) way to heat my tank? Please include a make and model and any install methods. My friend said I also need a Protein skimmer so I need space for that at some point. The owners manual is vague about this subject.

Thank you all so much for your help and feel free to add multiple ideas.

Steve

BioCube.JPG

• 2 weeks later...
One

Tunze 9002 also in an option for the BC29

http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?...t=0&start=0

Stevie, if using your media rack and fuge rack, is there a skimmer option for chamber one? I've hear of AquaticLife 115 fitting in there. Are there any other options and is this a good/worthwhile investment?

I do weekly 5g water changes in my BC29 and am not heavily stocked but would like to start adding a bunch of corals soon.

My tank: http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=250632

BogataTRACKER
If you go stealth make sure it is one of the new school ones and not the OG with with the red adjustment dial. I had two blow up on me in the last 2 months. I've got a thread on it someplace around here.

Stealth Heater Warning

Thanks for the tip. I think I have the new one. The knob has a LED light inside it. When the knob is green its at temp and red it's on. I also keep a backup heater just in case, it's my water change heater.

BogataTRACKER
If you go stealth make sure it is one of the new school ones and not the OG with with the red adjustment dial. I had two blow up on me in the last 2 months. I've got a thread on it someplace around here.

Stealth Heater Warning