inTank Media Baskets

Show me your AIO temperate tanks

sango

Hi all,

I have just started cycling my temperate tank in a 6 gallon cube. I'm thinking about moving it to a 24 gallon AIO tank. Anyone out there running a temperate AIO tank? If so, please tell me about your setup and post some pics.

Thanks!

I have just started cycling my temperate tank in a 6 gallon cube. I'm thinking about moving it to a 24 gallon AIO tank. Anyone out there running a temperate AIO tank? If so, please tell me about your setup and post some pics.

I've been running a 55 gallon temperate octopus tank for two years, and I think it qualifies as an AIO. I keep my tank at 56 degrees, to keep the strawberry anemone happy, and I wanted the chiller to run as little as possible to save electricity, so I designed everything so as to add as little heat to the system as possible. I wanted to use local rock instead of live rock because of the expense, and because live rock just looks wrong in a Southern California biotope tank. Local rock is not porous like live rock, and so provides no bio-filtration. I designed in a wet/dry trickle filter, and a deep sand bed to reduce nitrates. The main design principals I kept in mind were:

1) Use the minimum amount of glass surface area per gallon, because heat from the air in the room comes in through conduction where cold surfaces meet warm room air. a cube tank would be optimum, and a sump is a bad idea, so an AIO makes sense for a temperate tank. Also keep the plumbing short.

2) Minimize the use of equipment that adds heat to the water. submersible pumps add much more heat to the water than external, air cooled, pumps, and use as few as possible. If your external return pump doesn't give enough flow, Korallia type pumps are not bad for water motion (very few watts per GPH) but try to avoid power heads. Few temperate animals use light to make food so you don't need intense reef lights, which saves heat, and saves money.