inTank Media Baskets

Setting up a nano reef

psions5

Well I want to setup a small nano-reef as a display tank in my lounge. I am a expert in freshwater fish, but the equipment and fish bewilder me when it comes to marine!

Now the tank I want to use is a Jewel Rekord 60, a 57 litre all in one aquarium. I want to keep a few clowns or maybe a single Gramma lorreto, with some shrimp and a Cleaner fish thing. My lfs claims that if I understock the aquarium, like my plans suggest, then the internal filter should be ok.

One thing that is completeley puzzling me though is the coral's and rocks. I was thinking of a fish only setup, but my lfs said that a protien skimmer and better filteration are needed. Im on a real budget here guys so please try to keep costs down for me.

I know this must sound so weird, but what are corals, are they like plants or summat. I have got an understanding of natural rock, and how it is a natural filter, and crushed coral sand. I do want to keep corals and all those other weird things, but what do I need? When I buy them do u just "Drop" them in the water?

I'd really appreciate any help u can give and advice on equipment.

p.s the sandard flourescent light unit would have a Arcadia marine tube fitted instead with a reflector, is this adequate.

you need to do a LOT of reading. many of your questions would be better answered with a decent book. corals are animals not plants. do not trust your LFS, particularly if you are on a budget. go to the educational section of this site. read it. be careful posting on any forum until you have at least the basic idea of what you want because people get REALLY upset sometimes at beginners who don't do their home work.

as a start, many feel the 'all in one' systems are no good. i tore mine out and put a HOB and a fuge on. the reasons are complicated. RESEARCH!

nalbar