ReefCleaners.org

Goodness! To Eclipse? Or Not to Eclipse?!

TSUcowgirl

Alrighty y'all, I'm in my second year of college but FINALLY in a stable place [ no more moving back home and to the dorms for this girl !] I've decided to get back into aquariums [well, as many as my tiny apartment can hold ] so I'm gathering up old things [from back in my Highschool days when I was hard-core into 'tankin' ] and starting fresh! I have a 20 gallon w/ most of the basic SW equipment.

I tried my hand at SW about 2 years ago but did little more than a 'lil LR and some damsels. Now, starting all over, I feel like a dang kid 'n a candy store! There's SO many more choices than I realized back then. I've been reading and re-reading every thread on this site, all the articles, and cracking a few books at home. But more often than not, I'm finding books leave out important RL situations and problems [for those of us who don't have thousands to spend on our beloved 'lil hobby!] So in the coming months I'll be posting bits 'n pieces of questions as I 'venture' into the nano world! -squeek!-

Firstly [and please don't hollar at me if I've missed any of this in an article :P ]

The Eclipse Hood system, I've been really interested in getting one since my previous hood was just a run of the mill store pick up. I found out [unfortunately a 'lil too late] that all those holes and what not in the back for the filters let my precious salt escape....and coat the walls, carpet, anything in its path! -eek!-

So I thought an Eclipse might help solve this problem, but it seems the opinions on this hood are varied...greatly. Any feed back would be greatly apprieciated!

[ I envy those of you who are do-it-yourselfers! and can build those babies nearly out of scratch.!]

Next, [not time to tie me to the whipping post, yet, I hope]