Pod Your Reef

beginner looking for experienced help

mattbryant2

hi, my name is matt.

i've recently decided that i would like to try a nano reef tank. i have no experience with saltwater.

i understand that nano tanks are not easier than larger tanks, and are challenging for beginners. i am responsible and willing to dedicate time and money, and this hobby really fascinates me, so i think that i am up for the challenge.

i've been reading forums here on nano-reef.com, as well as on saltwaterfish.com, for the past couple of weeks in an effort to learn as much as i can about nano tanks. i have also been reading "the reef tank owners manual" by john tullock and "you and your aquarium" by dick mills. unfortunetely, these books have not been too helpful to me because it seems that the rules and practices for nano tanks differ greatly from larger tanks, which is what these books primarily cover. i have learned quite a bit from reading forums and articles but still have a lot to learn before i will feel confident enough to take responsibility for some living organisms.

so, what i am looking for is someone who is serious about offering help to a beginner to the hobby, someone who is willing to answer many questions and not only answer, but explain why, so that i understand what it is that i will (hopefully) be doing.

so, if you're willing to help me out, i would GREATLY appreciate it.

i've decided on a 5.5 gallon tank, for many reasons, including lack of space, need for a certain degree of portability, and simple preference. i'm not planning on keeping any fish, i would like a low bioload. just going to try a few soft corals and some inverts. my goal is to make the system as natural as possible, so that the benefits of an established eco-system can be obtained.