FTS 10/21/2011

003-2.jpg

FTS 7/25/2011

049.jpg

FTS 7/10/2011

092.jpg

first FTS 3/27/2011

308.jpg

Hey all! I am pretty new to the saltwater hobby, i have had a saltwater tank up and running since september 2010 (about 6 months). I had a crash and lost all my fish, due to my lack of knowledge. I guess you learn the hard way in this hobby. Long story short, i was running two HOB filters and took one off to use for a quarantine tank. I lost my green spotted puffer, clown goby and filefish :( I really wanted to throw in the towel.

Well as of a few days ago, my parameters are back to normal ( ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates <5) and everything is running smoothly (thanks to an expensive protein skimmer purchase).

My plan for this nano tank now is to have a coral and frogfish tank. I have never had corals but have been doing tons of research to get started. I mostly want zoas to start, i really love their look. I also picked up a few corals today from my LFS that i was told are good for beginners and were at a good price. I only paid $14.99 for some dragon-eye zoas! Anyways here is what im working with.

I have ordered an assorted angler, Antennarius sp from liveaquaria that will be here on tuesday. I fell in love with these little fatties the moment i laid eyes on one at my LFS when i first got into the hobby about 6 months ago. I watched this little yellow sponge-looking creature for what seemed like forever and couldnt stop thinking about how much i wished i could bring him home! Now that my tank is cycled and healthy and without fish i figured i would get myself one of these cuties. I have been doing tons of research on care and feeding techniques so I am hoping things will go smoothly when he arrives.

EQUIPMENT

• 27 Gallon Bowfront

• AquaticLife 2x24W T5 HO Linkable Light Fixture 24"

• 1 24" T5 HO 24W 10,000K Lamp

• 1 24" T5 HO 24W Actinic 420/460 Lamp
  • Homemade LED fixture
  • CPR AeroForce Recirculating Protein Skimmer