Innovative Marine Aquariums

Rimless low iron tank build

supernip

Hi.

I decided to build a rimless nanotank and I thought I'd share because it was much easier than I expected and I was able to do it much cleaner than what aga/oceanic pushes out. I hope you guys enjoy it.

This is my first time building a tank and I pretty much just used my common sense. I was hesitant at first but after the silicon dried, I realized how strong the bond was. The rim really is pretty useless. This is my first build so not everything was perfect. I have glass for a larger tank, and that one will be perfect.

Material:

1/4in low iron glass

duct tape

chaulk gun

black silicon

transparent tape

rubbing alcohol

1 latex glove

string (too cheap for clamps, unnecessary for smaller tanks)

dim:

14x8.5x10 (same as the ADA tank)

edges were flat polished for extra sexiness

pictures

pic 1: Prep work, silicon

I wrapped my edges in tape, and strung the thing together. extra support was given by duct tape. I know it looks slopy but my inner edges are taped so after I finished siliconing/smoothing out, I just took it off. It produced a perfect straight edge.

2jg1d74.jpg

pic 2: leak test

I also siliconed the outside as the flat polish provided a perfect groove. The result is a bilayer of silicon and no leak was to be found. Not bad for a noob if I do say so myself.

*Please excuse the mess on my kitchen counter.

453uyxs.jpg

pic 3: edgework

Perfect straight line B) The prep work took a long while but it was well worth it. You do not want to spend the time cleaning up stray silicon, trust me. It is not fun.

40crafd.jpg

pic 4: finished product

This picture does the tank no justice. I will retake a proper one later on. The low iron glass is great.

2v93v2d.jpg