Pod Your Reef

Clownfish laying down and breathing rapidly

AWillroth

Had theese two snowflakes in my tank for about 3 days. Today the smaller one has been breathing rapidly and didn't eat. Now he's laying on the sand breathing very rapidly and doesn't look good at all. Tank is a month old. Ammonia is zero. Salinity is .022 and temp is 79. Help!

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I unfortunately can't provide those. I don't have tests for then and the lfs is closed on Sundays. The clown just tried to swim and ended up upside down...

What kind of water are you using? I'm still new to the hobby, but I've been in this exact situation with a clown I lost. I botched a water change, using tap water I had let sit out for 48 hrs and then used treatment on it thinking it would be fit to use. Lost my black o. clown and induced a horrible cyano bloom. He did the exact same thing you are describing, "panting" and unable to swim or hold himself up properly. Needless to say I felt pretty terrible. Now its strictly only RO/DI..

And .022 seems a little on the low end for salinity if I'm not mistaken? I keep mine right around .026, I remember reading that reef tanks are better kept on the slightly higher side.

I agree but since he doesn't have access to LFS att, the only thing he can try in act of desperation is massive water change. It def won't hurt in this situation.

Can you post a picture of your tank?

Go to any store... petsmart sells API kits, which are acceptable. How much water did you change at the end of your cycle? Were you monitoring your cycle? Are you using a hydrometer or refractometer? Hydrometers are terribly inaccurate. Better to spend $ on better equipment and testing supplies than (literally) flushing $ on expensive fish.

Could be not enough oxygen if you have poor circulation... could be any number of things. We need more info.