inTank Media Baskets

BelowH2O's 10 gallon AGA

BelowH2O

Hey everyone, I've been hanging around these forums for around three months now and I finally decided to get off my butt and take some pics of my tank. I inherited this tank from a friend who gave up on freshwater because it was *sigh* "too hard" as I hadn't taken the plunge from fresh to salt yet, I considered this my perfect opportunity. Here is the tank at three months old...

• Replies 245
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Setup:

-10 gallon AGA

-DIY 60 watt NO canopy (2 actinic, 2 10K)

-25 watt submersible heater

-Rio 90, and 400 powerheads

-Fluval 204, I run this with carbon and sponges, which I clean during water changes

-8 lbs fiji liverock

-5 lbs Tonga branch liverock

-1 bag Carib Sea aragonite

Livestock:

-Purple Firefish (died)

-Six-line Wrasse (died)

-2 cleaner shrimp

-lots of Astrea snails

-a couple blue legged hermits

-a couple red reef hermits

-Green Striped Mushrooms

-Xenia

-Green Star Polyps

-Orange and Brown Zoanthids

-Blue Ricordia

-Blue striped mushrooms

-Irridescent blue/purple dotted mushroom

-Red Blastomussa W.

-Purple/red w/lime rings, Blastomussa W.

-Devil's Hand

-Orange Ricordia Yuma

-Various different color zoas

-Brown Palythoa

Plus the normal assortment of pods, worms, sponges, small feather dusters etc...

Additives:

I try not to add much, but what has proved successful so far is:

-Kent Liquid calcium: I dose this twice a week, 2-4 drops depending on the last time I changed water.

-Kent Coral Accel: Seems to make everything look a little more full and healthy. I use this once a week dosing around four drops, I found this dose increases the growth rate, without anything getting out of control. (I don't use this the weeks of my water change)

-Kalkwasser: I use this in my top off water which I usually replace when needed.

-Mysis Shrimp: I feed the tank once a week with about half a cube...the blastos, ricordia, and cleaner shrimp really love this treat.