Coral Vue Hydros

Marine Moron: First Nano Reef

Bedowyn

Hello everybody. I am BRAND NEW to the marine hobby, and while it is something I have always wanted to pick up, I never had the opportunity to do so. Until now. I do have some previous Tropical experience.

For Christmas I was encouraged by the wife to start that new aquarium I have been talking about for forever, and a Visa Gift Card enabled me to get started. But while researching the current state of the art - see what new options there were - I saw and became seduced by some Nano Reefs that I saw. And the more I saw and learned, the more realistic and seductive the idea became. Ultimately, I bit.

I was able to find and acquire a used Oceanic Biocube 29, including a stand and a 10 lb rock wall, all for the low low price of $Holy-Crap-That-Is-Cheap. So I am now committed.

I have also done a lot of reading. A LOT of reading. And I think I am ready to move up from Passive Marine Moron to active Nano Newby.

I do know that I am going to pick up a InTake Media and Fuge Basket, setup with Filter Floss, Purigen and Chemi Pure Elite.

However, I have about a billion questions before I can proceed. And I need somewhere to ask them. Some friends to help me find my answers. And so here I am.

So... a few things, in no particular order, to get started:
1. What the hell goes in a Fuge Basket. Cheato? I know it is some sort of algae, but I can not find ANY information or examples.
2. The included water pump is an Oceanic AP1550. My presumption is that this is the stock pump. Does this part need upgrading?

3. The pump also has no filter/sponge at the intake. Do I need to find this?

4. The recommendation seems to be a heater in the first chamber, where the water intakes are. Unfortunately, there seems to be a floor half way down this chamber, and I am not sure a heater would actually fit.