inTank Media Baskets

CT Frag Farmers Market

TinyGiant

I had a TON of fun at this event last year. I plan on bringing another 300+ frags to sell. Come buy from me and a ton of other people. Last year they had 5 rooms packed with sellers.

FFM2013.jpg
"
What is a "Frag Farmer's Market"?
Inspired by the idea of the the reef club frag swap, the New England Frag Farmer's represents a regional event with "farmers" from all over New England gather to sell their home grown "crop." The E.O. Smith Coral Project opens the doors to the school for any local hobbyist, retail or online store to come in and set-up a tank to sell coral frags. Admission is free, so anyone can come in and chat with the farmers, share information and get a few nice homegrown frags to stock their tanks.
Why organize the Frag Farmer's?
The coral reefs of the world are in peril as a result of numerous human activities, including the marine aquarium trade. As a hobbyist myself, I find it upsetting that I am taking part in destroying the reefs that I love so much. The hobby that we all take part in pulls ten of thousands of corals out of the oceans each year, with a focus on finding the rare and hard to find specimens. The irony is that most hobbyists have the ability to successfully grow coral colonies from tiny pieces of the colony and can, in time, create full sized colonies in captivity, with minimal effect on the ocean populations. By providing a venue for local hobbyists to sell homegrown coral frags from their tanks, my hope is that more people will take the time to frag the corals that they have. If we can take one coral colony from the wild, cut it into 25 pieces, put it into 25 people's tanks who grow it out and frag it, we will not have to take another colony of that coral from the wild in the future. By hosting the event, I also give the hobbyist a chance to see some of the incredible diversity of homegrown coral that is available in the New England area. By giving hobbyists the opportunity t