ReefCleaners.org

Pauls Picotope!

Phuntoon

I set this little bundle of joy up last weekend. This is my first attempt at a reef tank. I started with about 2lbs or so of Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand and 3lbs of the best live rock I could find. For the water, I robbed 3 gallons of crystal clear, fully established, cycled water from my Octopus tank. I added a Rio 50 powerhead and put the adjustable nozzle on and slowed the flow just a bit. Also of course added a thermometer. I'm gonna leave the stock lighting and filter on for now and see how far that gets me. I will also be adding a heater soon. As of now, salinity is 1.025 and 79 degrees. Since I started out with "live" rock, sand, and water, the cycling process is moving along pretty quick. I think I might get a cleanup crew this weekend. I was thinking 2 blue legged hermit crabs and 2 astrea snails to start. After all that gets settled, I'll start with the corals.

Coral wish list:

zoanthid (will probably start with this)

xenia

ricordea

a few other mushrooms

Small open brain

sun coral (possibly)

Here's some pictures of the new setup. Please forgive me for the picture quality because all I have is a camera phone at the moment. I will buy or borrow a "real" camera as soon as possible. Let me know what you think, and any suggestions you might have.

post-22455-1159380483_thumb.jpg

post-22455-1159380552_thumb.jpg

post-22455-1159380626_thumb.jpg

post-22455-1159380658_thumb.jpg

post-22455-1159380712_thumb.jpg

post-22455-1159380738_thumb.jpg

what brand kit is that??? what kinda phone are you using??

my tank pics are from a 1.3 sony ericson phone

still fresh eh? i love how clear your water is! no rushing i take it....

what brand kit is that??? what kinda phone are you using??

my tank pics are from a 1.3 sony ericson phone

still fresh eh? i love how clear your water is! no rushing i take it....