Top Shelf Aquatics

12 gallon Eclipse tank..

Jace

this tank that i have been looking at is a 12gallon eclipse tank(acrilic(sp?)). is the filter that comes with it good enough for a nano? will it be eaisily scratched from the material that its made of? and do i need a skimmer? thanks.

Jace

I too have the 12 gallon Eclipse tank.... Yes, the acrilic can/will become scratched if you aren't careful when placing rocks in it. The filter is good enough, however some people don't use it at all. I'm using mine right now with a simple cartrige to catch floating debris. As long as you have a good quality live rock, and don't overstock your tank I don't think the protein skimmer is necassary. However, keep in mind that you'll need to upgrade the lighting to support corals, and add a power head. Also, I'm still a newbie.... so others on this board will probably be able to offer you more advice than I can provide. None-the-less, have fun and search this board for lots of tips, and hints!