Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

newbie here that needs help on set up..

Jace

hello all- first of all i want to say that you have a nice site here and i look forward to to being a part of this group. my friend is getting me interested in saltwater reef tanks(he has an 80gallon tank) but im leaving to the armed services in late july so i want something small(5-10gallon). so when i leave i'll either let my parents take over for me or just give it my friend.. anyways- to my questions... since i want a small tank would a 5.5 or 10 gallon be better for a beginner? if i get an Eclipse setup will it have every thing i need? how much sand should i have and what about live rock? sorry this is such a long post an all of the questions, i just want to try to know everything before i get started. thanks for the help

Jace

pitbullpooch

im new also but most prefer to start out with something bigger like 50 plus gallons so u have room for mistakes as far as keeping water conditions controlled easier.but im new also im starting out with a 20g.as far as live rock your probably need 1 to 1.5 pounds per gallon and sand most say to use about 2 inch sand bed there are calculaters to determine how much u will need.like i said i dont know much but ive read alot here and at reefcentral.com go to search and you will find alot of info.and the eclipse setups dont come with every thing u need .in my 20g its gonna cost $500 just to start thats not including the tank since i have that already.hope i helped a little theres alot of people here that can help u.if it wasnt for the internet id be lost so hope u get some help.