Innovative Marine Aquariums

Ricordia Fragging

Grandfinale03

I have this HUGE orange ricordia shroom and I decided to try and frag it. If I lose it its not so bad, i have 5 or 6 more, but I cut it into 1/4's like a pizza. This is my first attempt to frag anything. Did I do it right? I used a brand new razor and made sure i cut all the way through, and straight across the middle. I left it on the rock it was on also. Let me know if I did the procedure ok!

I had cut ricordea into 4 pizza slices before. They would heal back into a circle within 1-2 weeks, but they would STAY small and not grow. I was feeding etc. One day I showed someone buying frags my ric prop container, then the next day all buy 1 frag died. Right now my sucess rate is 25% with my ricordeas.

I cut my golden/blue ric in half, but 1 half died a few weeks later... I'm not taking the risk anymore (since I only have 1)

hey first I AM NO EXPERT , i only did it a cpl times, but heres what i learned,

1. rics should be cut in half only but cut the mouth in half so both pieces

also other shrooms can takle it better like my blue shrooms i cut in 4 and they are ok, but its your risk,,,,,,,

I dont remember if i cut both cuts through the mouth. i think i wasnt sure so i did on through and one not through. Theyre pretty orange ric's. Whats the difference between the 2? I got them from my lfs and they told me they were "Ricordia mushrooms"

I will take a picture tonite when I get home from work.

This isn't my picture, but these are my Ric's. Identical to a "T"

post-20765-1158357376_thumb.jpg

I hope it doesn't fuse back together, but if it does than I didn't lose anything, which isn't a bad thing.

Thanks everybody on your comments so far! I appreciate them so I can learn! Also what is this about ric's being poisonous or toxic?

My .02---