ReefCleaners.org

Do you have a Harlequin shrimp?

fishy687

Hi I'm new to the world of saltwater tanks. And I'm thrilled. My roomate gave me the idea and now I have a little 1 gallon tank. Its real nice. I've had it running for about a week and I think its pretty well settled out. I put a feeder shrimp and a hermit crab in it to start and they're still alive so I guess thats a good thing. :lol: I want to get a harlequin shrimp and I know they are kinda hard to take care of. I was wondering is anyone knew anything about harlequin shrimp and if you have one, could you tell me about how you take care of yours.

hey there fishy, I've actually heard that some company is making a frozen variety food just for harlequins. If I find more info. I'll get back to you.

-Cheers

-Vannreefer

Wouldn't suggest one to a newbie. Especially with such a small tank. They eat live starfish, but not all of it, and the rest will quickly fowl the water especially in a tank that small without a skimmer. Also they are very sensitive to changes in water quality and it is hard to keep it stable in such a small tank. I'd say either get a different type of cool animal maybe a small mantis would be sweet and easy to care for, or get a bigger tank with a skimmer. Good luck!

VannReefer87, I would be very interested in a frozen food. it would take alot of hassle out of feeding my harlequins!

Wouldn't suggest one to a newbie. Especially with such a small tank. They eat live starfish, but not all of it, and the rest will quickly fowl the water especially in a tank that small without a skimmer. Also they are very sensitive to changes in water quality and it is hard to keep it stable in such a small tank. I'd say either get a different type of cool animal maybe a small mantis would be sweet and easy to care for, or get a bigger tank with a skimmer. Good luck!

VannReefer87, I would be very interested in a frozen food. it would take alot of hassle out of feeding my harlequins!