Innovative Marine Aquariums

7g tank

PENEJANE

well I have decided to give this marine thing another go and I gav a 7 gallon tank available. I am looking at only keeping low light corals like mushrooms and some zoas (excuse spelling terms as I am still learning all the new language lol).

With keeping these sort of corals what filtration will I be looking at. I wanted to use a HOB filter but not sure as to how much I am to turn the tank over per hr. Some have told me that the aquaclear 20 would be fine while others have said the aquaclear 50. So I thought I would come and ask thoes that have experience with nanos.

Once I have the filteration speed sorted I can then go and get the filter and look at setting it up.

Cheers

:)

ok how do I make that into a refugium. Never heard of that or what it is supposed to do. Could you please tell me what I am to do to make it a refugium please.

Cheers

I have been doing freshwater tanks for over a year now and still learning things but when it comes to marine I am totaly lost. I currently have a coldwater marine tank with some local bits and pieces from rock pools but never gone into tropical marine.

After looking at that thread and all the others that come off it I have decided that I don't want to do that with this nano. I was just wanting to run the HOB filter empty apart from some coral rubble. Having to run a refugium would require me to rum a second light and to get that other stuff that you put in it I have never seen available down here.

Cheers for the input. Nanos are not a big thing here and quite a few people have never heard of it so I am hoping to show them something that is simple to keep and still provide people with the joy of keeping a reef tank.