Innovative Marine Aquariums

Nano Clownfish/Anemone Setup.........

FishFreakOfNature

FishFreakOfNature

OK......I wish to attempt a 5 gallon Anemone/Clownfish setup. I am an experienced hobbyist and have successfully kept most corals. The sight of a Clownfish snuggled in his host Anemone has always entranced me.......Now I wish to set one of those up on my not-so-roomy desktop. Here are the plans:

Lighting: CustomSeaLife 15in 2 x 32watt ABS Hood (includes Actinic and Ultra Daylight)

Filtration: WATERCHANGES

Circulation:2 Maxijet 400 powerheads w/ sponge Prefilters

Livestock: (Open for discussion)

6 Blue Leg Hermits

1 Cleaner Shrimp

1 Bubble Tip Anemone

1 Maroon Clownfish

2 Nassarius Snails

1 Trochus Snail

Maybe some zoos and shrooms, if possible.........

I am aware that the Maroon Clown will grow big-I am prepared for that! I picked the Maroon because they are almost guranteed to take BTA's, the easiest Anemone to keep. The Clown will be purchased at 3/4 of an inch, and will be captive-bred. Waterchanges will be 50% 2 times weekly. (Each of my tanks gets 6 gallons of water "alotted" to it once a week.) The tank will have excellant circulation, light, and water quality. When the Clown grows too big, i'll simply pop him into my 75 gallon fish-only tank and buy a new one for my desktop. The Anemone should also do very well, and will be a captive "clone". I will feed it with silversides, shrimp, clam, etc. once weekly. The tank will have live rock and sand of the best quality. So, would this setup work for the anemone? I know it will for the clown. Oh, yeah, If I could also keep some corals (Zoos and Shrooms) in this tank with the Anemone, let me know, as i've never tried keeping an Anemone before, and don't know how destructive it can be.......

Thank You!

--Michael