Top Shelf Aquatics

Top or no top?

zizmans

This may be a beginner question, but with the range of answers I've gotten I figured it would be a good "discussion" debate. I'm new to the sight, so if it isn't protocal to put this kind of post here let me know. I have a 7 gal. bow with the JBJ 36watt combo clamp on light. For those of you who have seen it I'm sure you know that it leaves the top of the tank completely exposed. Good? Bad? I'm thinking of a P. clown and a pygmy angelfish. Should I get a top because of jumping? Does it inhibit proper evaporation? glass? acrylic? cost difference? Curious as to your response I have a felling we'll get alot of different opinions.

don't worry, this forum is de-militarized any and all q's are free to roam. ;)

all fish can jump ime (limited). the top inhibits that to most degrees. i like having a top to protect my lights (if they're open) but they're not necessary (if you take the jumping gamble). a glass top is better as they do not warp. the acrylic is a natural uv filter but that's really unnecessary.

as you touch upon a top will add to your heat but limit your evaporation. a very key issue for nanos versus the larger traditional reefs which due to their inherently larger volumes can withstand a loss of a gallon or two a day. a pint or quart loss for a nano can be devastating (remember a 10g's water surface area is about 20% of a 90g but a 90g has 9x the volume).

it depends on which factors are more critical to you (fish, evaporation, heat, contamination, etc.).

I'm pro-top for the reasons Tiny mentioned. Also I'm a lazy ass and scraping salt creep from bulbs/reflectors is a kick in the pants.

AZDesertRat

No Top ! It will just collect condensation and salt and block the light. PITA. If anything use eggcrate cut to fit.