Top Shelf Aquatics

Tap water versus?

wannanomore

wannanomore

Hi, I'm studying as much as I can and saving up for a Nano Reef. I have a 10 gallon tank, light hood, power filter and 100 watt heater. I will have to drive 100 miles to purchase live rock and sand so I want to make sure I am ready before I do this. I'm going to stock the Instant Ocean Salt and some Kalkwasser? spelling might not be right on that one, I hope thats all I need. Please if there are other supplies I should keep on hand let me know.

My main question right now is this; Is there any way I can try using my own tap water if I let it mix in a bucket like you suggest ahead of time for my water changes? I live in a rural area and don't think our water system has the chemicals and additives large cities would but I don't know for sure.

Thanks for any information on this.

Wannanomore

If you live in a rural area then I am sure you have a Walmart near you. I use their distilled water in the purple jugs as do many on this site. Tap water is no good, even if you don't live in a city, the water conditioners that are added can be harmful to the tank. Most likely it will cause you to have excessive algae growth. You can get the gallon jugs from walmart for 58 cents. So thats an initial cost of $5.80 to fill the tank and then a gallon or so a week for top offs and water changes. This is a small price to pay to have pure water.

wannanomore

Thanks for the reply Aggie but our nearest Wal-Mart is 70 miles away and I don't get out much. I was hoping there was an easy way around this but I suspected when I read the articles for beginners and saw the water requirements, that I was SOL. I guess I'll have to stick to FW and Brackish and enjoy Nano's by looking at the one's here. It was finding this site and seeing the awesome pictures that made me want one. Thanks for your time..

Wanna