Pod Your Reef

Seawater from the 'REAL OCEAN' -- Pros/Cons

halibutk

Well i am new to the hobby of nano-reefs but am looking forward to starting one soon. You may have seen me asking a few questions on the boards from time to time, and now I am in the planning stages. I still have lots to learn I know.

The question I bring is:

What are the pros/cons and stuff to watch out for if I was to go with a bucket and scoop up the clean, pristine ocean water we have here in Alaska to use in my reef tank?

I live right on the coast so that is no problem.

I have tested the water quality in different locations around my house ( i live within 1/4 mile of the ocean) while finishing my marine biology degree several years ago and from my notes, the PH, and salinity seem to be right in line. However I have not yet tested for any trace elements.

Let me fill you in on what I would plan to do if it is not a bad idea:

I have the capability to drive to an area on the coast that is several miles away from any buildings and about a mile from any stream/river inlet (affecting salinity). I would scoop the water up into a 5 gallon bucket , test the salinity and PH and allow it to warm up (water here is around 45 degrees Fahrenheit). I live on a rocky coast so the water is pretty much void of suspended silicates (sand, like you get from getting water on a beach).

Im debating filtering the water for a couple reasons:

-One is that during the summer plankton blooms the water will be loaded with food. How long that food will last when the water warms up I am unsure, especially the copepods and amphipods in the water.

-Two I dont want filtering to remove any beneficial nutirents that could be suspended in the water. Is the previous thoughts wrong in any way. :*(

Any thoughts on how this is either bad or good and what else I would want to test, or make sure of, before I do this.

Saves me alot of money and in my noob opinion, it would be beneficial.

Thanks