Coral Vue Hydros

Suggestions Please?

pig390

Hi,

I am interested in getting started in the nano-reef hobby. I have about 8 years experience with freshwater aquariums. I am just wondering what exactly I need to get started? I already have a heater, 10g tank, and penguin mini bio-wheel filter. Someone in one of the threads mentioned to take the bio-wheel out. Do I need a power head on my filter, and is there one for a mini? Also whats the best type of hood for a plain 10g? Do I have to use a protein skimmer or is the LR/LS a good method?

Sorry for the long question,but I thought it would be the best way to get the information after reading peoples threads for two weeks.

Thanks in advance,

Pig390 :)

I think you need to figure out what you want to keep, then consider the lighting requirements for said critters, then do some research on the equipment needed for the tank.

HOB filters don't use additional powerheads as the filter will come equipped with the necessary equipment for moving water in and out of the filter. With regards to the bag, I tossed mine and used the hob for a chiller but some people use the bag, others don't.

Do you need a skimmer? Up to you. some use em some don't. Live rock and live sand are crucial but the skimmer isn't. I don't run one on mine but I am going to try it out and see if it makes much of a difference.

You will probably need a powerhead or two for additional water circulation within the tank.

Regarding the hood, did the tank come with one? If not, see if the tank manufacturer makes a hood. If not, you can try and win the contest here or you can buy one from the sponsor of said contest. You can also get a cheap hood and install a retro fit kit to upgrade the lights. The lighting is dependant upon what critters you want to keep. Decide that part now and then go forward.

well welcome to NR!

If you havent already checked out the articles then these will help with some of your questions.

http://www.nano-reef.com/articles/