inTank Media Baskets

New to SW, new to reefing, new tank up for opinions

Apexlaxfrog

Hey guys, my name is Wes and I am a BRAND NEW NooB to saltwater and reefing. I've always been intrigued by reefs, but only recently had the balls to start one up. Unfortunately, my animal room is quite stuft with things like 3 adult bearded dragons, 2 adult leopard geckos, a 20g freshwater planted tank, a 29 gallon cichlid tank, hamsters, 6 corn snakes, 3 kingsnakes and now a SW tank. Thats why i have decided on the pico-reef to 'get my feet wet'.

I've been hovering around these forums and RC forums for quite a while now and will have to say that without these forums, i dont think i would ever have attempted what i have. So, thank you guys for your experiences, expertise and willingness to share.

On to my new tank:

-2.5g AGA w/ a width-wise false wall

-2 chamber in-tank refugium

-mechanical filter

-LR rubble, LS, chaeto, codium

-2-3 lbs of atlantic LR from a well established SW aquarium at Duke University Hospital (you guys know Duke - with the lacrosse players :o )

- Cascade 300 powerfilter with mod'd impellor (now about 50-60 gph flowrate) and a nice spray bar that creates a nice flow in the display.

- 2 13-watt 50/50 PC's from hellolights on the display and a 13-watt 5500K PC on my .3 gallon fuge.

Pic of my tank after construction and water:

CIMG1559.jpg

suggestions, opinions/comments appreciated, TIA

WES

the previous pic is old, my tank has actually come quite a way since then. That was 4 days ago, on August 6th. I also aquascaped my LR 4 days ago, let it settle and run for a couple days.

My aquascaping:

CIMG1574.jpg

Then yesterday, I added my first inverts, 2 turbos, a scarlet legged hermit and bought my first coral ever! A green mushroom polyp from my LFS:

CIMG1579.jpg