inTank Media Baskets

ASM G Mini Review

DaveFason

Well I've seen a bunch of posts wondering how they are, if the work out, noisey and what not so I decided to post this for people thinking about it. I am not an expert by any means, and I have nothing to compare too, being that this is my first tank so far. But I did come from where alot of people loooking on these forums are coming from, a good priced, decent skimate, and quite skimmer and size. My tank is around 45-50 gallons total and I think has a high bioload. I have two false percs, sixline, bicolor blenny, high banded goby paired with pistol, cleaner shrimp, sand sifter starfish, snails and a few hermits. I have alot of direct feed corals no alot of food goes in there. The tank has been up since March 29th, and the first week I had it I put in a bucket with freshwater and ving. I put the skimmer in and it put out millions of microbubbles and I thought I was going to die. After a week though they were ALL gone and it was crystal clear. It literly an overnight thing, so don't be worried if it doesnt look like its going to turn out good. It really took around 3-4 weeks until it produced some good skimate. Now 4 months later it producing awesome skimmate and could not be any happier. I'll try and get some pictures for you guys soon. The riser is very easy to adjust but I really want to get a gate valve mod just to make things even easier.

The size was another big issue. I needed it to fit into a smaller sump, but still work well. I almost went with the remora but the price was a little out of my range at the time. and after hering how well other ASM's had work I had to try. I have a 20L with baffles and fuge and managed to fit it all in there.