Innovative Marine Aquariums

3g Picotope

The Fisherman

The Fisherman

Hi all, I am new to this forum, but not at all to fishkeeping. I have been fishkeeping all my life (I am 17 lol), and I speacialize in tetraodontids (pufferfish). I am actually a mentor over at www.thepufferforum.com . I am experienced in FW,BW and SW, but I am new to corals.

Currently I have a zoanthid and toadstool frag under standard flourescents in my 55g SW tank, but I am about to buy a 3g picotope to move the corals too.

so far I am going with: all that the tank comes with . (tank, filter, 9w light)

25 watt submersible heater

Live sand, from my main tank

about 3 lbs fo LR ( I wnat to form a bit of a coral wall)

seed the tank with bio-max from my main tank

livestock: Zoanthid frag, moved from maintank

toadstool frag, moved from maintank

I want to add a frogspawn frag too, but I wasnt sure what all I could put in there. maybe some mushrooms? bubble coral? please give me ideas :)

I am also going to put a emerald crab in there, and maybe a hermit or 2. nothing too much. definitely no fish. I want to keep it mainly corals, with a few interesting critters.

basically I am asking what I can put in a standard 3g picotope with a 9w light.

thanks!

-John

The Fisherman

hmmmm, I am thinking about the galaxy light II. Would it fit in addition to the 9 watt light? I am just curious as to how it would work.

Is a pom pom crab the same thing as a decorator crab? I have never seen a pom pom crab before. Joshua, your link doesnt work.

Do you think a toadstool and frogspawn get too big and aggressive for a pico 3g? I could always frag them if they got too big. I am guessing I would have to change the carbon regularly, but with a filter that small, it shouldnt be a problem.

What do you think about a fission nano protein skimmer?

thanks!

Fishfreak218

in my 2.5g pico i had numerous ricordea, frogspawn, bubble coral, fox coral, mushrooms, zoanthids, and feather dusters...