ReefCleaners.org

help refugium macro skimmerless eclipse

smallreef

Hey I posted my first post a couple of days ago and got some great responses...I have decided to go with building a small refugium above my 29 gallon eclipse tank and grow macro algae to help with the export of nutrients as I plan to go skimmerless...As I am very new to this hobby I really need some help starting the small refugium...I am doing it with an eclipse 3 gallon or 6 gallon max as I have to install a shelf on my wall to even support the tank (I have no more room) I need some info on how to start the refugium and just as important how do I connect the two tanks???....I have read about using one pump and the flowback into the main tank works off of gravity but what happens if the electricity fails, the large tank overflows???? I do not want to drill in the small refugium as it is so tiny...please help with as much details and don't use abbreviations as I am really new to this and don't know much... thanks so much.... below i posted some info on the tank to help...

-29 gallon eclipse

-bottom of tank 20 pounds crushed coral, on top of that 20 pounds of live sand and 10 pounds of a fine white sand

-31 pounds live rock mixed fiji and tonga

-tank has been going for almost 3 weeks

-serious brown algae replacing beautiful corraline algae :(

-temp 79-80

-ammonia 0.0

-nitrate almost nothing to even measure

-nitrite 0.0

-ph 8.1

-salinity 1.023