SaltCritters.com

New setup....am I missing anything?

xnor

Hey all...

I should prefix this message by stating that I have no aquarium experience...but I learn fast. After reading the message boards for the last week or so, I have a tenative setup. If anyone has suggestions, I welcome them. My goal here is to have a viable tank for a single fish, some inverts, and coral.

Minibow 7 Gallon

JBJ Desktop Formosa 18" Hood

Ebo Jager 50W Heater

MiniJet 404 Powerhead

10 lbs LR

10 lbs LS

Is there anything I'm missing, or is this sufficient for me to start the tank cycling while I look for critters? The JBJ hood has built-in fans, so will heat from the lights be a concern?

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Make sure you use quality (RO/DI) filtered water that doesn't flow through copper pipes. Also, a good quality salt mix. The general concensus seems to be that Instant Ocean is widely used, though probably not the best that you can get. Do a search on "brand of salt" or something to that nature and see if you can find the poll thread.

I hope that you've not yet gotten your LR/LS. If so, and if it's still in a box or something, you've killed off the L from both.

Otherwise, looks good to start. You'll probably want to invest in a test kit that monitors pH, ammonia, nitrates and nitrites to gauge your cycling progress. Plan for at least 2 months for the sucker to cycle. That's two months with out fish or corals - some good LR will provide more than enough to look at during the time. Maybe a few snails and crabs will be okay in a week or so.

Yeah...I haven't bought the LR or LS yet...I'm not THAT naive. :) I keep seeing emphasis placed on good test kits, so I will definitely get one first. One other thing though...shouldn't the cycle period be shorter if I used cured LR?

Chris