Cultivated Reef

n00b here, help please

sonic

I'm very new to the salt water aquarium hobby, so please bare with me here for a sec.

A friend at work had an eclipse 6 setup for salt water, I loved it and asked where and how, latter on that day he gave it to me. At that time he told me that its been running for a bout a 1 1/2 months and only has one clown fish, he had another but it died. The day after I got the tank I went to the LFS and got another little fish, 3 snails, 3 hermits, and one shrimp. Also I got a new filter and fish food. I did everything the guy at the LFS told me and the fish and critters have survived and look very hapy and acitve.

Now I have been reading post after post here and in other sites, I didnt have a clue of how involved this is but I like it even more because of it.

The tank looks healthy except for some algae, some is golden brown and its only on some parts of the rock (not much) and some is green and hairy (very little) in one part of one rock. The rest of the rocks look very nice to me, with some pink and maroone stuff growing on it. I don't know what any of the stuff is so if someone could tell me what they are and if I should be worried or not...

Also I just found a red/maroon crab, don't have a clue where he came from because the guy that gave me the tank never saw it either, also there was another a little smaller dead in the back of a rock. What kind of crab is it? should I remove it? Theres also a couple of small fans growing, just spotted them.

I want to have some coral in there also, I have read that most mushrooms and zoos are hardy, don't require much light/current and are easy to care for, could I add a small frag? or am I asking for it? what can I add?

sorry for all the questions and any info would be greatly appreciated!

here are some pics of when I first got the tank (last week), I will post some recent ones later on when I take the pics...

tank_21203_1.jpg