Top Shelf Aquatics

# Fish in 5.5 gal

JTrigger

I'm completely new to nano tanks.. so this is my first attempt... and thus far, I've got a 5.5 gal with 6 lbs LR, 2.5 inches aragonite amidst layer of LS, ZooMed 104, BioMini, 2 bookworm lights (1 actinic 03 replaced).

As it stands, the tank has cycled and I only have a few blue-legs in at the time... looking for either a skunk cleaner or blood shrimp now... tough to find much variation in Newfoundland, Canada.. LoL. I originally planned for 2 false percs after seeing Bluezone's nice 4 gal setup, but is 2 too much? :blush:

I think so. Especially an active fish like clownfish. Plus clowns do get sorta big for a tank that small. I would stick with MAYBE 1 small, low activity fish.

Since its your first time with a salt water tank, I would suggest holding off on the fish for awhile. Get some corals first. That will keep you occupied for awhile. Plus your tank will be better suited for a fish once it has aged a bit.

i'm going to be contrarian here. i would go fish first, then coral. fish are much more tolerant of 'bad' conditions than corals and other inverts ime. coral and inverts don't add as much bioload versus any fish. you'll experience a greater change to a coral/invert system if you go with fish later rather than the other way around.

you can have two active fishes in a 5g. i had two percs in a 1g hex a couple years ago but stopped after about five months because of xenia problems, not fish. while it's a pita to wc 'constantly' back then i was wc'ing almost every other day on my main tank (too much imo now) so the hex just 'went along for the wc ride.'