Top Shelf Aquatics

3D white spots on clown

genotype

My clowns have a few spots on them. When they turn to face me I can see the spots sticking out from their bodies. One of the spots is hanging off the end of a pectoral fin. I don't have any experience with fish disease, none of my FW fish has ever had one, that I knew about anyway. I'm new to SW and nano-reef.com with an otherwise happy aquarium.

I'm assuming this is either ich or a parasitic pod. Just noticed a nitrate spike so that might have something to do with it. I'm doing 10% - 20% water changes every other day to get rid of the nitrate. No nitrite or ammonia. SG 1.022, pH 8.2, temp 78.

I'll be moving the fish to a hospital tank and leaving them there for probably a month. I have a watchman goby that my reefer friend said will not get the ich -- assuming it is ich -- for whatever reason. Will the goby be ok in the main tank? No use stressing the goby out w/ tank removal and meds if he won't get it. I have inverts and soft corals in the main tank also.

My friend (who also is in charge of the SW tanks at my LFS, is an avid hobbyist and terrible salesman, i.e. he discourages more than he encourages, not sure how they make any money) suggested Paraguard in the hospital tank. The main tank should see the parasite dying off after a month or so due to the lack of fish in there, correct? I've read that the salinity should be 1.019, but at what rate do I get the salinity down from 1.022.

I'm thinking I might be more stressed than my fish right now. Thanks for any help.

Oh BTW, isn't this something my cleaner shrimp should be taking care of? Should I fire him?

RayWhisperer

Welcome to N-R.com, and to SW as a whole.