Pod Your Reef

PomPom Crabs

wooz29

Where do the PomPom Crabs get their pompoms from? (keep in mind I am a newb)

I'd assume they are usually from condy anemones, or others if the LFS doesn't steal their expensive pom-pom. They definitely are born with it though, that would just be plain freggin weird.

I just bought 2 this weekend and I dont have any anemones and the tank they were in at the LFS might have had some, I dont recall. Is it possible for the anemones they are carrying to start growing in my tank?

Well yeah the anemones they have will grow somewhat as long as the crab keeps them exposed to the lighting. IF the crab drops them then they probably don't have a good chance to survive. Also if the crab does lose one it will split the other in two.

SaltwaterGoldfish?

my store had a pompom crab with only one pompom... after a couple months in our Cube it now has both pompoms... so they can reproduce in a tank... Bunodeopsis is the anemone in question... they are considered a pest to swimmers in California so I would imagine they could be a pest in aquariums... though I dont recall ever hearing anyone having problems

anemone = invert

pom pom crab = invert

Therefore,

pom pom crab = anemone

Answer: pom pom crab can grow anemone.

thefishofdoom
Well, that makes life a lot more exciting!

Now I'm hoping one of my sponges grows a squid...

--Diane

thats just great plus i dout a pom pom crab grows his own unless he has some in store because if a pom pom crab grew its anemone wouldnt every one have a anemone but yet they dont always have there anemone.

It's most definatly impossible that one animal can create another animal out of nothing. End of question. Unless he has a little bio-tech lab in the tank.....