Coral Vue Hydros

Hello, 1st Pico...

agetupkiddan

Hello all,

This is my 1st post, and 1st Pico (though i've been reading the forum for some time now)...

I've been keeping Freshwater tanks since University (3 years ago), and have made my 1st attempt at a Pico tank... Specs are:

- 2.5 Gal

- AC 20 (Rock/carbon/25 watt heater in back)

- Coralife 20 W 50/50 (read more on lighting later)

- 3 punds Live Rock

- Sand Substrate

The Tank is about 1 week old now...

This is a Pic of my open-top home-made hood thingy (soon to be painted)

And my filter with heater.

post-18918-1140580798_thumb.jpg

Side(ish) Shot of tank

post-18918-1140580889_thumb.jpg

Front Shot

post-18918-1140580951_thumb.jpg

And Does anyone know what this could be turning into?

post-18918-1140581000_thumb.jpg

So here's some questions I have:

1. I have a custom top for my open hood thingy with 2 screw-in sockets 1 for my 20 w bulb aaand... should I add another 20 W 50/50 or maybe a 13 w 6500k bulb??

Is 40 w too much for a 2.5?

2. Should i add more sand to the bottom?

3. Why is my rock turning orangy brown (you can notice in the picture)... is this good or bad?

Thanks everyone... ps. any extra advice, tips, critcisms are welcome, i'm relevetively seasoned on other forums, and value the knowledge of others..

mushroom head

1.Id add a second 20watt bulb to the hood.

2.I think the sand level is fine.

3.Your tank is just going threw a cycle(algae blooms).

That thing on the rock looks like a dead or barley alive coral skeleton. It might live and turn into a full coral if your lucky.

Very nice tank by the way. Nice and clean.

Nice, thanks for all the info people!...

Updates:

- yup algae is right, normal for a tank that is cycling i guess... it has spread a bit...

- I'm suprised at the difference in enjoyment waiting for a cycled saltwater tank is compared to a freshwater... always something new in there to look at..