ReefCleaners.org

how's this sound?

Frank B

Hello, I've been researching nano-reef keeping for the past year and I have decided that I should go ahead and take on the challenge. I'm no expert but I am not at all new to keeping fresh or marine tanks, both of which I have kept on and off for the past 15 or so years. I was just wonderig if anyone here could answer a few of my questions.

First off, my tank of choice will be a 10 gallon all-glss or perfecto (whatever I have laying around), with a JBJ formosa 2x24watt PC strip light (fitted with 1x10,000K and 1x Actinic bulbs), an Aquaclear Mini or 150 w/o media (again, what I have laying around), an Aquaclear 301 powerhead, 20# Arag-Alive sand, 15-20# Live Rock, and hw Marinemix salt (anybody like this stuff?). My first question is how does this sound?

I plan on keeping various Zooanthids (spelling?), Various mushrooms, bullseye mushrooms, hairy mushrooms, yellow polyps, green star polyps, a candy coral, a brain coral (once the tank is well established), a chili coral, Xenia sp., and hammer coral. Does anything look out of place?

How long should I let my tank cycle with the LR and LS before I start adding any critters?

Other critters I am thinking about include a basic cleanup crew; 4-5 bluelegged reef crabs, 4 scarlet reef crabs, 5-6 Astrea snails, 8 Nassa snails, and a cleaner shrimp. What do you think of that?

And of course a little fish or two, I was thinking along the lines of a Royal Gramma or a yellow watchman goby. If proper maintinence were done on the tank could I possibly keep both fish in there? The only reason I ask is because I have seen many of tanks out on this site, some even smaller than this one, containing more than one fish.

Last question, I promise... Due to evaporation and salt creep would it be possible to keep glass hoods on the tank or would this disrupt the gas exchange in the water?

Thanks in advance to anyone who might peruse my inquiries and answer some while he/she is at it,