ReefCleaners.org

New to Nanos

ct2001

Hello everyone, I am planning on starting a 10 gallon nano up soon, and I am wondering what type of lighting I should go with, sand bed depth, etc... I have a lot of freshwater experience and a fair amount of saltwater experience, no reefs yet though. I would like to keep it rather simple, maybe a carpet or bulb anemone with a clownfish along with the usual assortment of cleaners and whatnot. Any advice would be great.

I personally would not go with an anemone in such a small tank with no reef experience. Start off with something a little easier. A clownfish would be fine but I would go with mushrooms as your first coral, or zoos. For lighting I would recommend getting something that you will not want to keep upgrading every six months. I think two 36W pc would be sufficient and would allow you to keep a wide variety of corals. For a sand bed, I would make it "roll" ranging from 2-4" deep. Live rock, you will need about 20lbs to have a nice display and give plenty of filtration. Also, depending on the corals, you might want to get a power head or two. I would atleast always have one in a 10g nano. I had two in mine, when it was set-up.

Any other questions, just ask!

Thanks for the info, I'll hold off on the anemone till I get more experience, probably even a bigger tank. Where is a good place online to buy a lighting kit, I would prefer a whole thing, not a retrofit. In the article on this site about lighting they mention the CustomSeaLife Sealight, with the 27W and 9W PCs, do you think this would be enough? Also what is a good type of LR to buy, Fiji, Tonga, etc...?

Ct,