Innovative Marine Aquariums

coral questions

cmoreash

I have been doing more coral research, and have come across some new questions.  What is the difference between pH and alkalinity?  What should these be at for corals, and how to adjust them?

Oh yea, and how you you guys propagate new corals, and put them on rocks?

Um......I think that's it for now...  :)

Oh wait, what is the real different between soft and hard coral, and do they need special supplements/foods?

(Edited by cmoreash at 2:34 pm on May 24, 2002)

Hi

I'm no expert so any body feel free to correct me, but as I understand it pH is the amount of hydrogen ions in the water and alkalinity is the waters capacity to buffer against pH dropping - if it's too low then pH could be adversely affected.

Natural seawater has an alkalinity I believe of around 7-8dKH or 2.5-2.9 meq/L

These figures are assuming a specific gravity of 1.025.

pH I think generally should be around 8.3

Also I understand it's important that Calcium and alkalinity should be balanced if using additives or testing your existing water.

Buffers are available for increasing pH and alkalinity but as always care should be taken. Sodium bicarbonate increases alkalinity also.

As for propagating corals it depends on the type but sps corals can be cut of with clean wire cutters etc (some can just be snapped off) and glued with reef safe epoxy e.g Milliput, devcon etc

Softies - elastic bands, superglue gel, cocktail sticks

As for soft and hard corals, you would get a better answer from a good book, and supplements and foods can vary between species and hobbiests preferences. It's probably better to decide what you want to keep  and then research whether you can cater for its needs.

As I've said this is my simplified interpretation, so the more research -  as you are doing - the better.

HTH