ReefCleaners.org

Newbie w/Alk, LR >>

jawarden

Hi all,

Been keeping a 29g SW with dead rock for six years with varying degrees of succcess, but I'm a newbie to LR and reef. I'm slowly converting my 29 to a reef - I am gradually exchanging the dead rock for LR, and I'm up to about 20lbs of LR after two months, for a nice easy change with no hurry. I have been on top of water changes (using distilled) and apparently the three additions of LR were all fully cured as it didn't smell and there was no ammonia spike at all. :P

I have been dosing with Bionic and testing for ca, nitrate, nitrite, ammo, and now my Alk test kit finally arrived too. PH test kit due to arrive later this week. ammo=0, nitrite=0, nitrate=0, ca=420, all good, but the alk is 14. I need to get this down - if I let it ride will it come down on it's own or should I do a 10% water change to speed it up? The fish (perc clown and pygmy angel) both seem happy but I don't know how high alk levels would affect them - I don't want them to be uncomfortable. Your $0.02 is appreciated.

Question 2 (not a question really, just a dumb story):

Just bought a third fish for the 29g, a colorful bar goby, and he will be chillin' in a 10g quarrantine tank for the next 14 days. Here comes the dumb part: while at the lfs I decided to get two more pieces of LR for the goby to hide behind while in quarrantine and give me a chance to watch for hitchhikers on the LR. The pices are small, about the size of your fist, and had just a hint of smell at the lfs. The lfs employee said to check ammo in the morning, but he didn't expect much of a problem as the rock was 95% cured - if ammo found, lightly scrub to remove dead gunk and you'll be aok.