Top Shelf Aquatics

Should I REMOVE my PENGUIN BIO-WHEEL MINI?

RLiu818

I currently have a Penguin Bio-wheel mini running in my 10 gallon FOWLR tank.

I was told that the bio wheel may cause higher nitrates and the carbon was not good as well.

I don't understand, I thought a mechanical/biological/chemical filter was always good.

A few words of advice...... When posting a question that you wan an answer too, please be sure to provide background information on your set up pertaining to your question so you dont look like a total LOL'erskater.

I'm seeing a trend here.... so I offer this....

Use the SEARCH button before posting again. So far you have managed to ask a LOT of repete questions and been here a week. Hang out in the beginners forum for a while untill you get the hang of this board.....

Its much safer there... ;)

OK, here's a question. I've been using a w/d for a couple months; ammonia, nitrate/trite levels are 0 -> undectable. I've been thinking of nuking the w/d just to clear up some space in the tank (it's an in-tank filter). However ... it areates my tank. With my skimmer (another source of aeration) on a timer with the lights, is simple water movement with one jet of water breaking the surface enough to areate my tank? Or should I put an air hose onto one of the ph's?

My tank is a 20 gallon with 15 pounds very porous lr (~10 pounds more coming today) with 3 fish, 4 shrimp and the usual assortment of cleaners, hitchhikers and hangers on.

Ahhhh, so complicated.

printerdown01