Cultivated Reef

new 10gallon set up

Jezze

Hello, this is my first attempt at a salt water tank, and I want to do it right.  here are my supplies:

10 Gallon Tank

50watt ebo-J heater

AC 150

80gph P.header

32watt PC + 15watt NO flourscent with a 50/50 bulb

Coral life salt

Hydrometer

And unlimited water testing stuff courtesy of the place I work ;)

Planned stuff:

5lbs of argonite(more or less?)

5lbs of live sand(more or less?)

10lbs of live rock(more or less?)

Here are my questions.  When setting it up, should I put all of the sand and rocks in at the same time?(once the tank has been up and running for a few days)

How long should I leave the light on?  

Will my PH stay at a steady 8.2, or am I going to have to add chemicals?(i try to avoid chemicals whenever possible)

How much should I be paying for live fiji rock?  the cheapest I can find it is 7 bucks a pound.  If anyone in the seattle/bellevue/issaquah(washington state) area can point me towards a shop with better prices, it would be much appreciated.

How often should I be testing the water during the cycle, and how long should it take?

and lastly, too skimmer or not to skimmer?

vanillabox

Are you looking at Blue Serria for the live rock?  If so, I would take a look in there frag base rock tanks.  It is actually live rock in small chuncks.  Then get you self some DRY Base Rock, and let it turn live.  

FYI I am in the South End of the Puget Sound, and I still go up to Issaquah to get alot of my supplies.

How long does it take for it to turn live, and get the purple stuff on it?  Yah, Ive been going to blue sierra.  It seemed like a lot their live stock wasnt doing too well though, so I wasn't sure if they were considered a "good" store.  Do you have any opionion on renton fish gallery?  They offered to sell me live rock out of their main reef tank, so I think I may get it there.  Going to take a trip out to the fish place in bellevue to check it out.  Never been their before.