Top Shelf Aquatics

anyone using ozone?

jackson vile

Very dangerous in small systems. Even the smallest ozonizers available (25mg/hr) on the lowest setting can inject a significant amount of ozone relative to tank volume. I used 25mg/hr on a 200g+ sps system and it was able to quickly push the ORP past 450mv, I can't imagine how quickly it would raise ORP on a 10g system. Likely well above 500mv in a matter of minutes.

If I was even going to attempt something like this I'd run through an ozone reactor (not a skimmer) and then run that effluent through a large canister filled with activated carbon. Something like a merlin fluidized filter or similar. I'd then use a controller to monitor the ORP of the effluent output (not the tank) in order to ensure the effluent never went over safe limits.

Ozone is a great tool on large systems but questionable on smaller ones. I'm a long time pro-ozone advocate, but can't put my stamp of approval on using it in a small system. The risks far outweigh any benefits here..

Jim

Like Jim said, you're better off looking into a small UV unit if you want additional equipment to fight DOCs, algae, and parasites.

firefishbrain

even in larger systems, you should leave it one long anyways, at a soon-to-close coffee shop that had a 450g FO, had it on all the time, 24/7 until the LFS that I work for told them not to use it , now it just gathers dust, the tank wouldn's cycle properly and the fish would keep dying.

I have used Ozone for over twenty years in a variety of skimmers and tanks, although I have to admit that it is not running at the moment and my tank is suffering for it.

They help skimming and enable you to keep to O2 saturation high as it is in a reef.

Ozone must be filtered with carbon after the skimmer before the water enters the tank to remove the carbon.

If you do this here is some advice from someone who has experiance with it.