Coral Vue Hydros

Experiences with new (to me) LFS

Cami

Hi all,

First I want to say that I'm new to the message board and a nano newbe. I have considerable exp. with FW, I keep discus. What follows is the biggest aquatic blunder of my life.

In early Dec, my wife and I realized that there was a LFS in town that we had never been in. While we are loyal to the one we get our FW stuff, fish, help from, we do stray at times. On the counter was a beautiful 7 gal bow set up as a nano, completely cycled with LR, LS, and livestock. It was overstocked, but I'll get back to that. "How much?" my wife asks.

"Oh, we don't know how to take care of a SW tank," I say.

"Sure you do," says the evil LFS salesman, aka satan's fishy helper.

"No, we really don't." I protest.

"There's nothing to know. Just bring in a water sample once a week and get a gallon of SW for your water change and top it off with FW when needed and that's it."

"Come-on, it will be your birthday/Christmas present," my lovely wife says.

"It is gorgous," I say. Bad move, should have kept my mouth shut.

"We'll take it," My wife says.

We take it home and for 3 weeks all is well. The 3 snails, 1 crab, 2 scarlet shrimp, 4 different rocks covered with coral, 4 damsels, 1 clown fish, and 1 anenome were doing fine. Did I say that there was an anenome in a take sold to a beginner? Evil LFS man. I changed out the light with a 28 watt PC retofit 10000K/actnec 03 and proceeded to read this forum. Couldn't post a question until yesterday. I was locked out even though I joined the day we got the nano.

On the fourth weekend I bring in my water to sample and the Evil LFS man says "Your PH is dangerously low, add some marine buffer, follow the directions, here's your gallon of water. next customer." And the dumb hobbiest does what he is told. Oh, yeah, I'm the dumb hobbiest.