Top Shelf Aquatics

Office 2.5gal Pico... permission?

Jandree22

For those of you with Pico’s setup at your office, did you guys ask permission from your boss(es)? I’m considering setting up a 2.5gal AGA pico at my desk. I’m thinking it’s a stretch that they’ll allow it, even though my immediate supervisor is pretty easy-going. But then I look around other cubes in the office and several people have those betta bowls with a plant in them and this one lady, while she doesn’t have any water or fish on her desk is wacked out… her cube is like a jungle, literally dozens and dozens of plants. FWIW, I'm an IT Technician with PennDOT, state government in Harrisburg, PA. My desk is smack in the middle of your basic everyday cubicle system.

I’m thinking maybe they’ll see it as okay since it’s so small, but then I could also see them saying it’s different because the others just have a ‘bowl’, this would be like a ‘system’ aquarium.

Anyone have any advise or experiences with this? I have a feeling that it could go either way depending how I present it to them.

jand! wtf have you been hiding? there's a wave of '02's all of a sudden returning to nest?!

i'd ask permission first. i'd also stick to simple. you may even want to downsize the 2.5g to a 1g. i think there's an acrylic (first class acrylic) cube thread that looks pretty good. i forget who's it is though.

heh, I haven't been running a nano for a while... just my 75gal. I'm getting an itch to start one back up, though, whether a pico for my office desk or like a 10gal for home.

Only thing with a 1g, is that too small to keep a fish? I wanted to keep either a Firefish or a Citron Goby. If I were to stick with a 2.5gal, is that to small for one of the above fish PLUS a scarlet cleaner shrimp?

heh, I haven't been running a nano for a while... just my 75gal. I'm getting an itch to start one back up, though, whether a pico for my office desk or like a 10gal for home.