Top Shelf Aquatics

NaughtyCashew's Money Pit

NaughtyCashew

NaughtyCashew

Thanks to all the info I've learned trolling this board and reef central, I finally took the plunge and started my own reef tank. I've been running a 12G FOWLR tank for a couple of years as well as two freshwater tanks.

I made a deal w/ my wife that if I got ONE big tank, then I would get rid of all the other little ones....Little did she know that the ONE big tank would be a REEF :D

So here's the progress so far:

Day One (about 4 weeks ago)

Bought a 40G r for 60 bucks & an unfinished pine stand

day_one.jpg

Cycling live rock in my old 20G - the tank will later be my sump.

cooking_rock.jpg

Finished staining the stand (will never do that again!). 4 Bulb Tek-Light fixture standing on top of my tank.

stained_stand.jpg

Later I put all my live rock in my 12G Eclipse system. When I took my office tank apart I took home a 96W CoraLife fixture. Made the move because I was afraid I would lose some of the life in the live rock & wanted some light over it.

Not sure it was the best idea, as the water doesn't flow too well with 45 lbs of rock in 12 gallons

12G_w_rock.jpg

Yesterday I drilled the tank :scarry:

Drilling wasn't anywhere near as bad as I thought it would be. Had a few little chips on the inside, but no fractures. I think I am good to go!

drillin_tank.jpg

Tank as it is today waiting for sump installation & plumbing. I gave it several coats of Krylon Fusion, and it looks awesome!

I like this shot the best as you can see a ton of light peeking through my freshly drilled holes! B)

holy_tank.jpg

Thats it for now! Hopefully I can get some water in it before the end of the week!

• Replies 138
  • Created
  • Last Reply
NaughtyCashew
Great start, it's looking good! smile.gif

Is that a toilet wax ring in the drill shot?

Thanks!

Yeah, that is a toilet ring. I worked pretty well as a water dam for only $.99.