Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

first nano - my try at the 1.5 ocean free

dl5

hey guys, well this is my first time in the nano scene. just wanted some opinions on anything about it as i'm very new to this whole thing.

the tank is an ocean free 1.5 gallon that i purchased from petco.

the original filter was ditched for a red sea nano filter that i had purchased about 4 months ago because the original was just extremly loud and poorly made.

the lighting is provided by a coralife mini unit.

i'm monitoring the temperature with a lifegard thermometer.

there is 1 pound of fiji rock, 1/2 pound of some cheaper live rock, 1.5 pounds of sand and a handful of seeded sand from a friend's tank.

i didn't notice until last night that there were some polyps on the smaller piece of LR and i was wondering will they make it pass this cycle?

i also saw a little aptasia on the smaller piece of rock also, how devastating can this problem become?

i'm planning on getting a heater tonight, i know it might be overkill but will will it be bad if i stuck a 100w visitherm in there?

thanks a lot!

PB200095.jpg

^ when i first got everything up and running at about 7pm last night, nov. 21st

PB210113.jpg

PB210104.jpg

^ 12 hours later and now everything is has cleared up quite a bit.

thanks for looking!

Im running a 1.5 ocean free also....i have the coralife mini 18 watt light and a whisper filter i had laying around with live rock rubble in it...as far as my temp goes, it fluctuates from 77-80 deg F throughout the day without a heater...so i guess depending on where u live, if it gets really cold in the room your keeping the tank in, then maybe a small 50watt heater would do the trick....i think 100w is overkill given its such a small tank...i do about a 15% water change once or twice a week and do small top offs everyday....so as long as you keep up with the water changes and keep your temp. in check, you should be off to a good start.